It seems like just yesterday a real man would only drive a vehicle named RAM, MAGNUM, AVENGER or maybe even VIPER. Times are different now, but trying to keep up with the latest eco-trends in alternative vehicle fuels can be a tad tricky. Is an EV better than a NG? Should you use biodiesel or ethanol? Here is the skinny on alternative vehicle fuels. It's by no means the definitive guide, but there should be just enough to make you look cool with the herbal tea and socks & sandals set.

Biodiesel: Made from animal or plant oils, biodiesel can be used in a traditional diesel engine. Biodiesel can be made from a wide variety of sources including soy, sunflower, canola, hemp, recycled cooking fats, beef tallow and fish oil.

Electricity: EVs run on electric motors for propulsion. Electricity is stored in batteries or supercapacitors. All purely electric vehicles require recharging and must be plugged into an electricity source. The best source would be renewable – solar, wind, ocean or geo-thermal.

Ethanol: Ethanol is a high-octane motor fuel made from grain alcohol. Pure ethanol is not normally used; instead ethanol is usually mixed with unleaded gasoline, ranging from 10-85% ethanol/gasoline blends depending on vehicle type.

Hybrid: Hybrid vehicles use a combination of one or more energy sources to fuel the vehicle. Currently the most common type of hybrid vehicle utilizes a combination of a petrol fueled combustion engine and electric batteries.

Hydrogen/Fuel Cell: Hydrogen, a highly volatile gas, can be used in vehicles from two main methods: the hydrogen is combined with oxygen in an internal combustion engine or the hydrogen/oxygen gas can be passed through a fuel cell and generate electricity to power electric motors.

Natural Gas: Natural Gas (NG) is a high-octane hydrocarbon; considered by some to be the cleanest burning fossil fuel currently in use. Often NG and propane are confused; physically the primary difference is NG is stored in a compressed state while propane is the liquid by-product of natural gas processing.

Solar: Solar cars are covered with photovoltaic cells on the vehicle surface. The sun’s energy is converted into electrical energy that powers the vehicle.

Resources


Biodiesel
Biodiesel Will Nelson: http://www. biowillieusa. com/
Biodiesel America: http://www. biodieselamerica. org/
Biodiesel Canada: http://www. biodiesel-canada. org/

Electric
Vancouver Electric Vehicle Association: http://www. veva. bc. ca/
Electric Vehicle Association: http://www. evaosd. com/

Ethanol
American Coalition For Ethanol: http://www. ethanol. org/
National Ethanol Vehicle Coalition: http://www. e85fuel. com/

Fuel Cell
Honda Fuel Cell Vehicle: http://world. honda. com/FuelCell/
Fuel Cells Online Organization: http://www. fuelcells. org/
National Renewable Energy Laboratory: http://www. nrel. gov/

Hybrids
Toyota Hybrids: http://www. hybridsynergydrive. com/
Green Hybrid: http://www. greenhybrid. com/
Honda Hybrids: http://automobiles. honda. com/civic-hybrid/

Hydrogen
California Hydrogen Highway: http://hydrogenhighway. ca. gov/vehicles/vehicles. htm
BMW Clean Energy Group: http://www. bmwgroup. com/cleanenergy/
Hydrogen & Fuel Cells Canada: http://www. h2fcc. ca/
Hydrogen Village: http://www. hydrogenvillage. ca/
National Hydrogen Association: http://www. hydrogenassociation. org/

Liquefied Natural Gas Vehicles
Natural Gas Vehicles Ontario: http://www. ngvontario. com/
The Canadian Natural Gas Vehicle Alliance: http://www. cngva. org/

Solar
Australian Solar Car Race: http://www. wsc. org. au/
Principia Solar Car: http://www. prin. edu/solar/

Green Pages


Make your own biodiesel with a personal Home Bio-Diesel Maker – The FuelMeister II. The unit can make two batches of biodiesel a day and comes complete with recipes: http://www. fuelmeister. com/

The annual North American Solar Challenge held each year in July has teams competing to design, build and race their solar cars 2400 miles from Houston, Texas to Calgary, Alberta: http://www. americansolarchallenge. org/

Via:www.greenmuze. соm

Eco Info
Powered by Joomla CMS.